The nominees for the 24th Annual Video Music Awards were announced live on a special edition of TRL from its Times Square studio in New York City on Tuesday. The awards show, which will air live on Sunday, Sept. 9 at 9 p.m. ET from the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas, has been been pared down to eight areas of recognition and will feature new categories, including Quadruple Threat and Monster Single of the Year. Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé tied as top contenders with seven nominations each. Kanye West and Rihanna followed closely with five. Rihanna, nominated in several categories including Female Artist of the Year, revealed the nominees for Best New Artist, which includes British imports Amy Winehouse and Lily Allen, American Idol superstar Carrie Underwood and alternative artists Peter, Bjorn and John. Chris Brown, who is up for Best Choreography in a Video for ‘Wall to Wall,’ announced the show’s top category, Video of the Year. Nominees include Amy Winehouse for ‘Rehab’; Beyonce for ‘Irreplaceable’; Justice for ‘D.A.N.C.E.’; Justin Timberlake for ‘What Goes Around?’; ‘Kanye West for ‘Stronger’ and Rihanna ft. Jay-Z for ‘Umbrella.’ Timbaland, who’s scheduled to perform on the show, slyly dodged rumors that Britney Spears would be making a surprise appearance on the upcoming telecast. ‘Gotta watch the show,’ he purred before adding that he was going to show TV Land how an awards show is done.By Delaina DixonPhoto:

Sound off in the comments below!

Join the conversation