You want it? You got it! Fresh celeb news daily.


Watch James Durbin's Shocking Elimination & Journey on 'American Idol'

2011__05__James_Durbin_May13news 300×216.jpg

May. 13 2011, Updated 4:31 a.m. ET

Link to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to Email

After 72 million votes, the highest in the history of American Idol, James Durbin was voted off the hit Fox singing competition in another shocking elimination for Season 10. The heavy metal rocker was joined in the bottom two by Scotty McCreery, but the country crooner was deemed safe, leaving Jennifer Lopez and the audience in tears. OK! takes a look at James' long Idol journey.

James was visibly upset, but also held his composure after his fate was announced.

Article continues below advertisement


"I did so much stuff that's never been done on this show before," he said of his metal and hard rock performances.

There were lots of groans, boos, palpable tension and sadness in the air when the Idol favorite was sent packing.

James took time to console Scotty and the other remaining contestants — Haley Reinhart and Lauren Alaina — who were sad to see him leave.

Off camera, producer Nigel Lythgoe stood by James' side waiting for an opportunity to talk to him. Nigel’s been a mentor to James throughout the process, and it was evident he wanted James to win.

The judges also seemed to be pulling for James — often gushing over his performances.

Steven Tyler gave James a huge bear hug and J. Lo couldn't stop the tears from flowing.

Article continues below advertisement

One good thing about the end of James' Idol journey is he can now be reunited with his wife and son. James and Heidi shared a long embrace on stage and look truly in love.

Relive James' Idol journey in the clips below, via

James' Shocking Elimination & Recap

James' Final Performance

"Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow"

Jacob Lusk and James team up for "I'm Into Something Good"


James Brings Heavy Metal to Idol with guitarist Zakk Wylde

"While My Guitar Gently Weeps"

"Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting"

"Living for the City"

"I'll Be There For You"

"Maybe I'm Amazed"

Final Hollywood Performance

"You've Got Another Thing Coming"

More Stories

© Copyright 2021 Empire Media Group, Inc. OK! is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.